New Year Resolutions

By Jackie DasFormer Airpark Toastmasters President 

Dear Fellow Toastmasters,

I hope this message finds you well and that you all had a safe and peaceful holiday.

As we start the New Year, many of us turn our focus to goals and aspirations, otherwise known as New Year Resolutions.  Some of us have lofty goals such as finding a new job, starting a new company or winning the TM international speaking contest while others have goals such as increasing self confidence or improving communication skills.

Whatever your goals for 2012, it’s highly likely that Toastmasters can help you achieve them. The TM program is, quite simply, remarkable but like any goal, it only works if you stick with it.

Over the holidays, I brainstormed some areas where TM can be beneficial (yes, I did have too much time on my hands! :)) and I came up with the following:

  • Speaking credibly and confidently in front of a group and learning how to connect with your audience
  • Communicating with your boss and your team
  • Listening skills
  • Communication skills training
  • Evaluation skills
  • Speaking up at meetings
  • Performance appraisals
  • Time management
  • Thinking on your feet
  • Winning new customers
  • Networking with a group of professional people

I am a passionate advocate of the benefits of TM and I am looking forward to helping you to achieve your goals. But it’s you, the members, who make the difference, not me.  I would like to reach out to all members who have not been to a meeting for a few weeks or months just to say that we miss you and want to see you back and we look forward to working with you to help you achieve your goals.

Please note that I am always on hand to discuss any concerns or issues you may have or to listen to ideas for improvement as are my fellow officers, Claudia Sawaf (President), Brad Taft ( VP Membership), Diane Busey-Bird (Treasurer), Anthony Contreras (VP Marketing), Chris Faulkner (VP education) and Gwenn McCaleb (Secretary)

We all want you to succeed – why not let Toastmaster’s help you with your goals?

See you in the New Year!

Jackie

Leave a comment